Fun Food Monday – PB & J Spirals

No matter how hard you’re watching what you eat like I’m trying to do, there are times when nothing but PB & J will do. For those times here’s another recipe from The Biggest Loser.

Facts:
Recipe makes one serving
253 calories – but it’s a large enough portion to satisfy me.

• 1 whole-wheat flour, log-carb, tortilla (7 1/2 “ in diameter)
• 1 ½ tablespoons reduced-fat peanut butter
• 1 tablespoon 100% strawberry all-fruit spread (or your favorite flavor)

Set a medium nonstick skillet over medium heat for about 1 minute, or until hot. Place the tortilla in the skillet. Cook for 20 to 30 seconds on each side, or until just warm.

Place the tortilla on a cutting board. Spread the surface evenly with the peanut butter followed by the fruit spread. Roll into a tube. Slice into 8 equal pieces. Serve immediately.

5 responses to “Fun Food Monday – PB & J Spirals

  1. I personally believe you NEVER grow out of that occasional need for a PB&J. So I love this lower fat option. When I was in my boot camp, peanut butter was allowed and encouraged…in moderation. So this definitely a recipe I’ll be trying out. Thanks, Lavada!

  2. Weird confession here. I love jelly and I love peanut butter. BUT never together. NEVER. It changes the whole taste and texture for me and I can not deal with it. At all.

  3. Sounds really easy to make, Lavada. 🙂

    In Britain we love peanut butter and jelly (jam as we call it) but we wouldn’t eat them at the same time. That’s what I found anyway. I wonder if Tricia has the same experience as me?

  4. Jan, that’s interesting as a kid I grew up with PB & J sandwiches. Mine did too.

    Jilian, Do you eat peanut butter with syrup on pancakes?

    Laurie, I think you’re right no matter how you eat it you never out grow peanut butter. I even eat it on my pancakes with syrup.

  5. Lavada- no, I don’t but my mom and sister do! LOL! AND my sister will just eat a spoonful once in a while.

Leave a Reply

