Book Review- “Home in Time for Christmas” by Heather Graham

I know, I know, yesterday was Easter and today I’m reviewing a book about Christmas. Seems a bit odd, but I really have a good reason for it. I’m a fan of Heather Graham and her light paranormal stories. I’m also a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution and love to study that era of history. I picked this story to read and review because it has an element of time travel, a Revolutionary War soldier and most importantly, a message of love. More than just romantic love is the focus of this story. Maternal, paternal and sibling love , as well as love for friends, all play a part in this story as well.  I chose this for an Easter weekend reading as Easter is all about love. The ultimate love, if you will.

The  heroine in this story loses control of her car on a patch of ice and hits a man who suddenly appears on the road in front of her. The man is dressed as a Revolutionary War soldier. She thinks he’s a re-enactor or a museum docent. She’s shocked when he tells her he was just in 1776 and had a hangman’s noose around his neck. Instead of falling to his death, he falls into 2009.  Of course, the heroine believes he’s hit his head when she struck him. She takes him home with her.  Her brother, mother and father, as well as a varied menagerie of pets surround the man with warmth and good feelings. He’s enthralled by all the newness but needs to return to  his own time to look after his sister.

This was a wonderful little story. I enjoyed it for the most part. In some places, it got a little preachy about how some things are different in modern times and some remain the same- such as racism, etc.  I didn’t particularly enjoy those parts as it seemed almost like being hit on the head with a two by four. I also saw where the story was headed pretty early in the book, but it was a nice voyage to get there. 

In short, I recommend this one for a quick, light read. Just try to hang in there through the preachy parts.

8 responses to “Book Review- “Home in Time for Christmas” by Heather Graham

  1. Wow. What a great premise. I’d have never guessed it was a time travel from the cover, but I love these feel-good reads. Guess I’ve got another book to add to my TBR pile. 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion, Jillian.

  2. Yeah. The cover is deceiving but the house is actually almost a character in the thing itself. It really is a nice, feel good story.

  3. I haven’t read much from Heather Graham. After your review I’m ready to add it to my TBR pile.

    Thanks for sharing Jillian.

  4. Sounds a good read, Jillian. Thanks for sharing. I’m certainly going to add it to my ‘to read’ pile 🙂

  5. I’ve only read one Heather Graham, but love the sound of this. Have added to the TBR pile.
    Thanks Jillian!

    • I think you would like it. She has several awesome series. One came out last summer and fall and the 3 books in it are set in Key West. Ghost Shawdow, Ghost Night and Ghost Moon. They are all excellent

Leave a Reply

