Roses

It is time to assess my roses and how they handled the snow we had this winter, followed by the abnormally wet spring that followed. I don’t have a lot of them, but the ones I do have are my favorite flowers. People say roses are hard to take care of, but I haven’t found that to be true. For one thing they grow just about any place. According to fossil evidence, the rose is 35 million years old. And, garden cultivation began some 5,000 years ago. That should say something about ‘hard to take care of’.

Of all the flowers, the rose is probably the most easily identified, who doesn’t know a rose? They have been symbols of love, beauty, war and politics and have been used as confetti at celebrations, for medicinal purposes, and as a source of perfume.

My mother-in-law believed in natural remedies and touted rose hip tea as one of her favorites. I remember picking wild rose hips with her. She used it primarily for a diuretic but one cup of fresh rose hips has the equivalent amount of vitamin C in 60 oranges. It also is said to have an uplifting effect on the nervous system and can relieve insomnia, depression and fatigue.

We’ve all read of the “War of the Roses”. In fifteenth century England the rose was used as a symbole for the factions fighting for control. The white rose symbolized York, and the red rose, Lancaster.

They’ve been around for a long time, at one time roses or rose water was considered legal tender. Now maybe that’s a solution for today’s economy. 🙂 No matter, they make me happy. And, they are so worth the time I take with them.

6 responses to “Roses

  1. WOW! I did not know that about the vitamin C- that is amazing. I love facts like that. I’m a big fan of roses, too. I have a very black thumb- I even wilt silk flowers, but we have a rose bed in our yard (where my hubs is in charge) that grows like crazy- right now it is bursting with blooms. Spectacular!

  2. Jillian I just popped over to your blog and Wordless Wednesday. I love the rose photo’s. Mine aren’t anywhere near blooming and when I couldn’t find any of the picture I know I have thus the clip art.

    For any of you that want to see Jillian’s blog, click on it in our blog roll to the right or go to http://jillianchantal.com/news/ Her roses are beautiful.

  3. These are some fun facts about roses. I don’t have a whole lot of patience with growing them, so my husband takes care of them. However, I do love the ones he puts in a bud vase on my kitchen window sill all summer long. I love their fragrance. 🙂

  4. Laurie,
    Jack rarely picks them and brings them in but I’d rather he did then purchase them. There’s something about having your own brought in from outside. And especially when your guy does it.

  5. I love roses, too, Lavada.

    They have beautiful scents. Wouldn’t it be great if we could bottle that up and sell it now.

    I rather like the wild roses, more simple and yet still pretty.

  6. 35 million years old and still beautiful! That’s some going. Maybe there’s something to be said for using rosewater on the skin 🙂

    A single rose in a pretty bud vase by the computer is certainly uplifting (and inspriational).

Leave a Reply

