Food Fun Monday – Roasted Asparagus

I have to admit to being a late bloomer when it comes to enjoying vegetables. I still can’t stomach cooked spinach or brussel sprouts, but I do now enjoy veggies such as broccoli and asparagus. However, they need to be al dente (not fully cooked) for me to really enjoy them. I haven’t tried to cook asparagus at home yet and thought this might be a good recipe to try. If anyone has a recipe for asparagus they’d like to share, just add it to the comments. I’m looking for options here. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds asparagus spears
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan or Asiago cheese (1 ounce)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Snap off and discard woody bases from asparagus.  Place asparagus in 15X10X1 inch baking pan. Drizzle with olive oil; toss to coat. Spread in a single layer. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast, uncovered, for 15 to 20 minutes or until asparagus is crisp-tender, turning once. Transfer to serving platter; sprinkle with cheese, then serve.

posted by Laurie Ryan

7 responses to “Food Fun Monday – Roasted Asparagus

  1. I love vegetables, especially baby spinach. I remember when I was a teenager, I know long way back to remember, I used to open a can of it and eat it for a snack. But then I weighted all of a 100lbs. I should get back into it as I still love the stuff.

    I haven’t done much with asparagus but this looks like a really easy dish to make. And, this is the time to get it.

  2. Ugh! Spinach! I love it fresh, hate it cooked. That’s one kind of veggie I’ve never gotten used to. Even asparagus has to be kind of crunchy. No mushy vegs for me. 🙂

  3. Sounds nice but I’m not an asparagus fan! LOL!

  4. Sounds good Laurie, but I can’t believe you don’t like brussel sprouts. I love them especially slightly underdone. They have a nice nutty flavour.

    Me, I never did like spinach.

  5. Nope. No brussel sprouts OR spinach. I call those gourmet veggies and steer clear. lol

  6. Sounds delicious!! Can’t wait to try that one out!

  7. Hey, welcome home from vacation, Michal! Maybe we can try the asparagus recipe when your father and I show up on your doorstep in, oh, about a month? 🙂

Leave a Reply

