Habits, Good and Bad

WHY can’t I keep the good habits like I do the bad? I do all the right things, like focusing for 30 days. For example our writing chapter does a 100 day club challenge. You write 100 words for 100 days. It is designed to set a habit of writing each day. It works . . . for awhile.

Coffee, I was advised to stop drinking it or greatly reduce my intake. To do this the doctor said to stop drinking coffee, and tea. Even herbal tea so that I could set a habit. I hated this one, but I did and it worked . . . for awhile.

Walking, now there’s classic good habit. Try as I might I can’t get into it and stay, Not so with my husband. Jack walks nearly every day. Rain or shine. Of course he has a consistency that I don’t have. He doesn’t like the furniture to be re-arranged and even gets upset if the remote gets moved to another end table. He sits in the same area, preferably the same pew in church every week. Getting a picture here? According to what I’ve read consistency is the key so now all I have to do is find it.

In researching habits I found one piece of advice that may work. It said, “Don’t go to the gym if you hate it.” Got that one. It went on to say, “Find diets, exercise, financial plans and work routines that are fun to follow and support you.”

So it’s April, and I’m off to find good habits that I like. Wish me luck in not finding more bad habits instead.

6 responses to “Habits, Good and Bad

  1. Lavada, I wonder if it’s a man thing.

    My husband runs every day for about twenty minutes. Me – I don’t have the inclination. He always likes eating his food at a certain time. Me – I’m really not bothered, anytime will do.

    Good luck in your quest!

  2. You will find those good habits you’re looking for, but I’m not sure you looked hard enough for the good ones you already have. Like the fact that you are so good at keeping in touch with your friends and family. Like knowing how to set priorities and when it’s time to take some time for you. Like how your volunteer your time…a LOT. So pat yourself on the back for the good habits you have, then go find another one or two to augment them. 🙂

  3. Echoing the good luck wishes- AND when you get it figured out, pass the advice on to me because I have the same issues. It’s funny how that adage works for me like it does for you- for a while.

  4. Jan, I think you’re right about a man thing and they lose weight faster too.

    Laurie, Thank you my friend. You’re too kind but I like your view of me better than the one I see.

    Jillian, I’ll be sure to pass it on. Maybe we should just shoot for a longer “For a while.” and work from there?

  5. Don’t know if this qualifies as a habit as such, but my husband has a habit of taking two chocolates only when we open a new box. Me? Well, I’d eat the whole box no problem. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat there seething because he absolutely refuses to take another chocolate. I mean, one more chocolate, how much can it hurt?

  6. Tricia, My sentiments exactly, it two is good, three or . . . is better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

