March Madness

I’m going to make a confession here. I don’t watch basketball. Whew! Last week, I’d have said that wasn’t any big thing to admit to. But my father’s been in the hospital for a few days with some issues, and March Madness is in full swing.

He’s had the tv tuned to all the games. Of course, our local University of Washington Huskies made it to the final 32 before getting booted out by UNC. If Dad doesn’t have the game on, his nurses change it to the game for him (with his permission). Several of them stop in during the games to check the score.

I went by the reception desk in the hospital lobby and the two women there were discussing the teams. And out at valet, one of the kids had his phone set up for a live stream of a game.

Where have I been that I did not realize just how crazy people are over college basketball? I mean, I’ve heard of March Madness. Who hasn’t? But until I saw it in action, I had no idea how big it really was here in the states.

Do you follow the games? Do you like basketball? Are you rooting for any of the final 16 teams?

On a side note, winter is OVER! Spring is here and even though it’s raining out, it FEELS like spring. I am SO ready!  Oh, and my father is doing better. Hopes to go home from the hospital in a day or two. 🙂

posted by Laurie Ryan

7 responses to “March Madness

  1. I’m so glad your father is doing better. I don’t watch ball games but Jack does so they are running in the background. All of them, basketball, football and baseball. Thankfully he’s not into hockey and socker so much. YET!

  2. I’m really pleased your dad is doing better, Laurie.

    In the UK we’re not as into basketball as the US.

    Football, and Rugby seem to feature the most.

    Our football is like your soccer, and our Rugby is very similar to your football. 😉

  3. Yes, Dad went home today. He’ll need a lot of care for a while, but that’s all being figured out. Thanks for the comments!
    And Jan, I’m not sure I’ll ever be good at “translating” sports depending on which side of the pond we’re on. lol

  4. So glad your dad is home and doing better, Laurie.
    Tricia

  5. Thanks, Tricia!

  6. Glad to hear your dad is better. It’s scary to have things happen to the parents and you’ve had both lately. Here’s hoping for a healthy summer for them.

    I, too, am not a B-ball fan but have a friend that’s rabid about it. LOL! She tries to win her office pool every year.

  7. I had no idea how BIG it was until I saw it first hand at the hospital. I still don’t think it will make me a big fan. I enjoy watching the last two minutes of a game (about 20 minutes real time). That’s where all the action is.

Leave a Reply

