Book Review – Paranormal Romance Genre

We’ve decided to add another layer of fun here at Over The Backyard Fence. Once a month, on the last Monday, instead of a recipe, we’re going to do a book review. And here’s the first one:

Taste Me, by Tamara Hogan

I had the opportunity through my local reader’s group to read an advanced copy of this story, due out from Sourcebooks on March 1st.  I expected, by the title alone, that this book would be an erotic, something I don’t normally read.  I was, however, pleasantly surprised to find it was not.  Don’t get me wrong. It’s sexy, and steamy. VERY steamy. And fast paced is, I think, an understatement. I was riveted by this story. It’s been a long time since I read a novel in less than one week. The tension (both sexual and storyline) is through the roof. My husband caught me more times than not this past week, with my foot tapping furiously away as I turned the pages.

I loved the intense bond between Lukas and Scarlett. I loved the fact that I got a good feel for the secondary characters. And I loved reading a story that had so much at stake, I could not put it down.

I haven’t read many paranormals, not because I don’t enjoy them, but because I have such a pile of books to read and I’m slow, so I simply haven’t gotten through to many of them. Taste Me made me want to bump the other paranormals to the top of my pile. Thank you, Ms. Hogan, for a most enjoyable read. I look forward to the rest of this series as it unfolds.

by Laurie Ryan

Information (from Tamara’s website)                       http://www.tamarahogan.com/

Winner of the Daphne du Maurier Award for Mystery and Suspense, and a 2009 Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist, TASTE ME is the first book in a gritty, fast-paced, sexy urban fantasy romance series set in a world where incubi, sirens, valkyries, vampires, werewolves and faeries live undetected alongside humankind.  

The Blurb:

He wants her so badly he can taste it…

Ever since their tempestuous fling years ago, incubus Lukas Sebastiani has known that siren Scarlett Fontaine was meant to be his. But when you’re a sex demon with an insatiable desire, relationships are…complicated.

Her siren song brings men to their knees…

Rock star Scarlett Fontaine desperately needs a break after a grueling tour. But with murder and mayhem surrounding her band, and Lukas guarding her body, life is going to be anything but peaceful.

Every encounter between them creates more turmoil—and heat—until Scarlett pushes Lukas to the boiling point, and unleashes forces that go way beyond anything she can hope to control…

7 responses to “Book Review – Paranormal Romance Genre

  1. Crikey, a sex demon and a siren … and we have to wait until tomorrow to get this book 🙂 Looks like my ‘to read’ pile is going to expand yet again, Laurie.

    Thanks for posting the review.
    Tricia

  2. It’s well worth reading, in my opinion. 🙂

  3. Laurie, I’m so glad you enjoyed TASTE ME, and that the secondary characters engaged you (a lot of them will be the heroes and heroines of future books in the series). Hurray for tapping feet! 🙂

    Thanks so much for your kind words.

  4. I’m very much looking forward to additional stories in this series, Tamara.

  5. Laurieeeeeee, I have a TBR pile a mile high and you do this. Sounds like a must read.

  6. Sorry. (not) 🙂 It’s a good story. What can I say? 🙂

  7. Sounds like an awesome read, Laurie! thanks for sharing what I would’ve never found on my own

Leave a Reply

