Words, wonderful words…

Above my computer I have a board with favourite photos, postcards and probably hundreds of inspirational and motivational quotations. Okay, maybe not hundreds, but they are there in abundance. Any quotations I can’t fit onto the board get put in a file to browse through at odd moments. Can’t resist them.

One of the first quotations I took on board was at school when I read Shakespeare’s wonderful line “to thine own self be true”. Those words added weight to my own father’s encouragement to “be yourself, make your own decisions and have the courage to stand by them”. Not easy, and I’m still learning the lesson, but they are certainly words to live by.

Recovering from flu, I’ve been watching some of my favourite movies on DVD. I hadn’t realised how many movie lines have made it into my arsenal of favourite quotations. Here are a few:

From Field of Dreams, when Burt Lancaster’s character explains how he felt having taken part in major league baseball for only one inning. “It was like coming this close to your dream, and watching it brush past you like a stranger in a crowd.” This reminds me to keep pushing to achieve my goals. How sad not to pursue our dreams and end up feeling this way. As Thomas Edison said, “many of life’s failures are people who did not realise how close they were to success when they gave up”.

From The Last Samurai when Tom Cruise is trying to learn the fighting ways of the Samurai and failing miserably against an opponent. He is told he has “too many minds” – wow, how often do I feel like that? This little quote is currently on a post-it note on my computer monitor, reminding me to switch off some of those “minds” in order to focus and concentrate on what I’m doing and to ignore the other hundred and one things that flit through my mind like busy monkeys.

Dead Poet’s Society has a multitude of fabulous lines. I especially love the Thoreau quotes in the movie but the best for me is the well known “seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary”. Fabulous.

Oh, I just asked my hubby for one of his favourite movie quotes. He’s given me the following from Air Force One when Harrison Ford warns “Get off of my plane”. Hmm, I don’t think he quite grasped what I was looking for 🙂

How about you? Do you have any favourite inspirational or motivational quotes to share?

Tricia

5 responses to “Words, wonderful words…

  1. I loved all your quotes, Tricia, especially Hubby’s 😉

    I too love the quote ‘carpe diem’, the same as in The Dead Poet’s Society. It’s a motto I try to follow every day, but realistically hard to achieve.

    I love ‘Dream Big and Dare to Fail’ by Norman Vaughn – a man of many accomplishments who lived into his 100th year.

    For the past 15 years I’ve carried the poem ‘If’ by Rudyard Kipling in my purse. Sometimes I remind myself of the words.

  2. Great blog this morning. For years I had a poster on my wall at work. “A ship in the harbor is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.” Author unknown.

    I moved a number of times and it always went with me. When I retired, I retired it. That was before I started writing. Thankfully it remains in my head.

  3. I have to say that “too many minds” is now going to be on a post it on my computer, too. I definitely struggle with closing down some of those compartments to focus on the moment. 🙂 One of my all time favorite quotes is from Captain Jean-Luc Picard (yes, of the SS Enterprise). He says:

    “Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived.”

  4. Jan, I love the Norman Vaughn. Reminds me of Donald Trump’s recommendation that “As long as you’re going to think, you might as well think big”.

    I’ve heard of that quote, Lavada, and it seems very apt for writers who are battling with fear of the page.

    Laurie, how true about cherishing every moment and to live well.

    Tricia

  5. Great post, Tricia. I love quotes. I collect them. My fav source for awesome quotes is Aristotle. He was amazing- and surprisingly modern.

Leave a Reply

