What would you do if you won the lottery?

Last week, in a small town of 7,000 people in eastern Washington, the lives of one retired couple changed forever. They won $190 million dollars in the Mega-Millions multi-state lottery drawing. This couple came across as down home, nice, family-oriented people and I found myself smiling as they were interviewed. These were cool folks and I liked that they won this money. Hey, if I can’t have it, it might as well be someone nice, right?

As with any large monetary win like that, they were asked what they would do with the money. They said they would share it with their children. In fact, he was quite proud of the fact that his children, and his children’s children, and so on, would never have to worry about money. They also said they would be buying a motor home so they could get away from all the people that would probably be trying to contact them now. I got a real laugh out of that.

As usual, though, any time we hear about a win like this, my husband and I got to talking about what WE would do with that kind of money. Would we go directly to Olympia (Do not pass Go, do not collect $200) to claim our prize? No, we’d probably get with a financial guy first.

Would we want our names all over the news? No, but we’d most likely have no control over that.

And what would we do with the money? Well, invest, first and foremost (hence the need of a financial guy). And we’ve always dreamed of paying off our children’s mortgages. That would be fun to do. Beyond that, we just don’t know. I can’t imagine that we would change our lifestyle too drastically. Although there is a thirty day cruise to Australia that I have pinned up over my desk.  So I’m guessing there would be a trip or two in our future. And any airfare would be first class.  

It’s always fun to ask what you would do if you won a large jackpot or prize like that. Let’s all dream together.

posted by Laurie Ryan

13 responses to “What would you do if you won the lottery?

  1. Sounds like fun- the Australia trip. AND yep, travel would be what I’d do. Definitely first class. Sounds like a plan- except you have to play to win!! I never do. LOL!

  2. We are BIG spenders, buying a whole $3 most weeks. Hey, it allows us to dream, right? lol

  3. Ahh…the dream of winning the lottery. How many times have I played this over in my mind?! My dream – in this order: First, eliminate all debt. Invest a significant portion, buy a house and new car, give a portion to both parents (since one always helps me when needed and so the other can provide for them self), an equal amount to my siblings, a college fund for each of my nieces and nephews (or an equivalent trust for those that don’t choose that route), invest a portion in my company (what a great way to secure long term employment!) and finally a big pay-off on my best friends college loans. All of this is of course an unlikely scenario since I think I have bought a total of 5 lottery tickets in my life but one can dream can’t we?

  4. Wow, Michal, you really HAVE given this some thought. 🙂 And, just for the record, we would make sure you had a mortgage for us to pay off if we won. lol

  5. This is a fun blog today. Like Laurie and Mark we watched the lottery winners interviewed on the news. Jack does play, every week. And, he does dream of what he’d do with it. We’ve even argued a little on the subject. Paying off debt for the kids and grandkids, and traveling would be firsts. And, not getting into trouble. I’ve read stories where people have won and ended up in big financial trouble by over spending. But then how would you overspend with $190 million? That amount sort of boggles the mind.

  6. What could you possibly buy that could be overspending $190 million dollars? lol

  7. I have it all planned out~but rarely buy a ticket. But my plans include; a new home for my daughter, son in law & grand kids. My daughter suffered a massive stroke in March 2002 and is confined to a wheel chair. They live in a 900 sq ft home that they’ve never been able to afford to remodel to accomodate her needs. Mama would see to it that the new house was made just for her needs. I’d move out of my small mobile home into a house with a view of something~Mt Rainier, Puget Sound, something other than the mobile home across from me. Of course I’d see to it my son & his new wife had their house paid for and that my grand kids, brother & sister in law, my nieces and their families were all cared for. I also have a cousin who is very dear to me…she and her husband have struggled for years with health & financial issues. I would love to pull up in front of their house, walk in and write out a check to pay off their mortgage & make sure they have food, medicines, what ever they need for the coming year. Of course I would give money to my church and a couple charities that are close to my heart. After all that, it would be nice to have a comfortable motor home & enough money for gas to travel around the entire United States. Oh and I’d pay for everyone’s lunch at Reader’s Group the month after I won.

  8. Linda, You’ve got the best plan of all of us, I think. Wow, your daughter and her family must be amazing people to have weathered the storms in their life. And I, like you, would donate to charity. I’m sure we all would. And maybe even BEFORE we get that room with a view. Ah, wouldn’t it be nice to look out our window at Mt. Rainier every morning? Sigh. Well, we can dream, right? 🙂

  9. I agree, the winning family had a great attitude, they sound like they will not blow the money.
    What would I do? First, change my phone numbers, then call my friend Jan the CPA. I would throw a big big party for friends and family, for all their love and support. Then I would set up trusts for family members, wipe away friends’ debts, get more involved with my favorite charities, upgrade my car to something made in the 21st century, build a lap pool, buy the vacant lot next to my Dad’s cabin, and travel travel travel. But first I have to buy a ticket and renew my passport.

  10. lol a bunch! Change your phone number. Why didn’t any of us think of that?
    Go buy that ticket. I LIKE your list. 🙂

  11. We’d go somewhere warm and sunny and take our time planning what to do with that money. Ah, such sweet dreams …

  12. Ah, yes…warm and sunny. I’ve been wanting to go to Cabo. That would work. We could sit on the beach and blog to our heart’s content. As I look out at the dreary morning here, that scenario REALLY sounds good. 🙂

  13. I would give 10% to my church, invest some, pay bills, help family/friends.

Leave a Reply

