Out with the old …

Well, here we are on the eve of a New Year and it’s found me, as always, in a reflective and somewhat poignant mood. For some reason I’m always a little melancholy as the old year passes, mostly when reflecting over things not done, chances not taken, relationships not nurtured. This year I’m changing that and focusing on the good stuff. The things I’ve done during 2010, the times I’ve taken a chance on something, the people who have been in my life and mattered to me more than words could ever say. All in all, it’s been a pretty good year and I’ve been blessed by so much that is wonderful and positive.

So, as the old year ticks away, I’m focused on planning for 2011. I don’t make resolutions, but I do set goals – big and small – and use the S.M.A.R.T acronym to pin them down. Goals have to be:

Specific – what exactly are you going to do and how are you going to do it? For example, “I will attempt to lose half a stone by Easter by sticking to a 1500 calorie a day eating plan.”

Measurable – “I will keep a written record of what I eat each day and daily calories consumed” When you stick to your daily allowance you’ll feel like a winner, you’ll feel you’ve succeeded, and as we all know, nothing succeeds like success.

Achievable – goals need to stretch us, but they also need to feel within reach. Think big, but maybe take baby steps on the way 🙂

Relevant – are they really what you want or are you going along with someone else’s idea of what you should be achieving. We’re bombarded with diet shows and adverts at this time of year, but if you’re not too bothered about your weight then losing half a stone won’t keep your interest for very long.

Time-Related – put a time factor into the equation, otherwise things remain too vague and it’s easy to give priority to other things. Procrastination is the thief of time.

Richard Bach wrote, “You are never given a dream without also being given the power to make it come true”. As we step into 2011, I wish you and yours a very happy, healthy, prosperous, successful and truly blessed New Year. May all your dreams come true.

Love and Light
Tricia

5 responses to “Out with the old …

  1. I had not heard of that SMART acronym, but I appear to have totally applied it to my writing. Lavada motivates me to set annual goals. I didn’t this last year and feel like I didn’t accomplish as much. So I’ve got ’em all ready to go for 2011. Happy New Year to you and yours, Tricia, and to everyone!

  2. I didn’t realize it but I do the SMART – And, it works. Now if I could remember to keep applying it. It’s like I fall on and off the wagon. For me having an accountability partners works. You and I have been at it for what 4 years and Laurie and I have been doing for a couple too. Nancy and I are just starting something like it for weight modification. Wish us luck. We both love to eat.
    I’m with you on looking back on the past year. I feel so fortunate to have my family and friends in my life.

    Happy New Year. We’re within hours of a NEW YEAR

  3. Hi Laurie and Lavada, interesting how, as writers, we seem to automatically use SMART, but this year I’m applying it to all my goals. Yes, having to account for ourselves really does motivate and inspire and I know I wouldn’t get as much done if I didn’t have you, Lavada.

    I’ll raise a glass to you both at midnight – here’s to a fab new year!
    Tricia

  4. Great acronym. AND I love the Richard Bach quote. Happy New Year. Jillian

  5. Glad you like the quote, Jillian. I’m a great fan of motivational quotes and have a whole list of them on the wall above the computer.

    Happy New Year
    Tricia

Leave a Reply

