Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas

Feliz Navidad

Joyeux Noel

Mele Kalikimaka

Nollaig chridheil agus Bliadhna mhath ùr!

Wesolych Swiat Bozego Narodzenia or Boze Narodzenie

However you say it, it’s almost here. Tonight lots of little children will be working hard to stay awake and parents will be working equally as hard to get them to sleep.

Being part of a larger family there are a lot of happy Christmases in my past. I am very blessed that a lot of the family is local and my siblings and their families, along with our parents, still meet for an annual Christmas brunch. We’ve outgrown some of our homes as we number over 40 people these days, so I’m grateful to my brother and his wife (with the biggest house) for hosting AGAIN this year. It is a joyous time of renewal for all of us.

When I was thinking about what to write today, I realized that I didn’t really need to write anything. Most of us will be busy wrapping those final packages, visiting with friends, baking that last batch of cookies, and going to services.  So I’ll keep this short and simply wish you the merriest of Christmases from all of us here at Over The Backyard Fence.  May you get everything you wished for.

“One of the most glorious messes in the world is the mess created in the living room on Christmas day.  Don’t clean it up too quickly.”  ~Andy Rooney

posted by Laurie Ryan

2 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. The day has started and I LOVE IT. We start out with dinner out as a family tonight (Christmas Eve). Then we re-group early Christmas morning around the Christmas tree. Gift giving is savored with “Santa” passing out each gift with the help of the youngest of the grandchildren. Everyone waits until it is opened before going on to the next one. We take frequent breaks to re-fortify with goodies. Then on to dinner of prime rib.

    Wishing you all a Merry Christmas.

  2. Yum! We normally relax and do nothing after brunch, but this year we are going out to our son’s for dinner. I’m lookoing forward to it. Plus, I lost another 2 pounds, so I feel I can give myself a sort of “day off” and enjoy some foods I’ve not had in a while.

    Merry Christmas!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

