Food Fun Monday – Russian Teacakes

Since I won’t be making these this year (too tempting), I thought I’d post this recipe for anyone else who might enjoy them. Russian teacakes are my all time favorite holiday cookie. My mother has made them since we were kids and there’s a whole lot of nostalgia wrapped up in each one. I think the recipe is out of the Betty Crocker cookbook.

You will need:

  • 1 cup butter
  • ½ cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 ¼ cups flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup salt
  • additional powdered sugar for rolling cookies in

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Mix thoroughly butter, sugar, and vanilla. Work in flour, salt, and nuts until dough holds together.

Shape into one inch balls on cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes until set, but not brown. Roll in powdered sugar while warm, then let cool and roll a second time.

Yum!

posted by Laurie Ryan

5 responses to “Food Fun Monday – Russian Teacakes

  1. Wow this sounds really simple to make. I’ve never tried russian cake before, but it sounds so amazing 🙂

  2. Hi, Tes. Yes, they are pretty easy to make. My brother is disappointed I’m not making them this year. He likes them as much as I do.

  3. I used to do a lot of baking for Christmas. Now, not so much. This recipe is my kind of recipe, easy and sounds delicious.

  4. The twice rolling in powdered sugar is the key. My high school best friend’s mother used to make hundreds and hundreds of these, she was a great baker. However, what I remember most about them is her 5 rotten kids always called them ‘barf balls’, to tease her.

  5. Barf balls? What a hoot! And yes, that second roll in the sugar is what makes them so especially good.

Leave a Reply

