Food Fun Monday – Stuffing

Well, with the USA’s Thanksgiving Day this Thursday, I thought I’d better stay in theme and do some sort of holiday recipe. I do a lot of traditional things, but no extraordinary or inventive recipes. Every time I try an experiment, my family groans. 🙂 So I pretty much stick to the recipe.

I was online checking out stuffing recipes and realized just how many different variations there are. So I thought I’d put the simple one I use up today and ask what type of stuffing you all make. Feel free to put your recipe in the comments…that is, if it’s not a closely guarded secret.

Turkey Stuffing:

  • 1 pound loaf sliced white bread
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons poutry seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup chicken broth

 Let the bread slices air dry for a couple hours, then cut into cubes. (I play lazy and buy a package of pre-dried, pre-cubed bread at the store).  In pan on stove, melt butter over medium heat. Cook onion and celery until soft. Season with poutry seasoning, salt, and pepper. Stir into bread crumbs until evenly coated. Moisten with chicken broth; mix well.

Either stuff the turkey with it, or bake in buttered casserole dish at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30-40 minutes.

Last year was the first time I didn’t stuff the turkey. I cooked the stuffing separately and was surprised at how much everyone liked it that way.

Now it’s your turn. Do you make stuffing? If so, what kind?

And, since I won’t be blogging again here until next week, I’d like to wish everyone a very safe and enjoyable Thanksgiving!

5 responses to “Food Fun Monday – Stuffing

  1. Looking forward to making this! It’s my favorite!

  2. Oh, yeah. And since I get some carbs back in my diet today, I can actually have a bite. 🙂 I’m sitting here staring out the window at the snow falling. It’s SO beautiful. I need to go bundle up and get out for a walk.

  3. You are one of the few people that are so enthused about snow and I love it. Stuffing, I cheat and get the seasoned stuff. Then I boil the giblets and onion and celery until tender and use that broth and some of the neck meat to mix in the seasoned bread. I mix in a couple of eggs and a cube of melted butter. I get the giblet stuff ready the night before but I don’t mix it up or stuff the bird until I’m ready to pop it in the oven.

  4. Eggs? I hadn’t heard of using eggs before.

  5. Duh. Silly me. I was in such a rush I completely FORGOT THE BUTTER. There should be 3/4 cup butter added to this recipe. My apologies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

