Fun Food Monday – Rice Pudding

This is another non-cookbook recipe. Although I wouldn’t be surprised to see it in one, because how many different ways can you make rice pudding?

A few months ago we got our first rice cooker. I was surprised to see it took 45 min. to cook brown rice. I for sure wasn’t going to make just enough for one meal. Needless to say I had plenty of leftovers. I froze some servings and still had a bunch. Umm, ah ha, Rice Pudding. Except in all these years I’d never made it. To make things worse I was pretty sure I’d need to go down to the grocery for ingredients. I’m not a big fan of cooking or grocery shopping and besides how hard can it be to make rice pudding.

The recipe below is what I came up with. I loved it and ate probably over 75% of it. Hey if Jack snoozes, he looses right?

Note: The amount of ingredients you use depends on how much rice you have. I ended up with a quart baking dish full.

Rice – I used brown
Eggs – I put in 3
Brown sugar – I used about a cup
Cran raisens – I dumped in a bunch (I like them)
Flavored coffee creamer. Just dump some in maybe a cup or so

Mix together and pour into a pan. I used Pam to keep it from sticking but you could use butter if you’d rather. bake at 350 until an inserted knife comes out clean.

Posted by Lavada Dee

3 responses to “Fun Food Monday – Rice Pudding

  1. I haven’t had rice pudding in ages! I used to enjoy it with my step-father. It’s a happy memory. I love the craisins idea instead of raisins. Yum!

  2. Mmm, love rice pudding recipe, Lavada.

    It’s real comfort food. Especially this time of the year.

    During the summer we have cold rice pudding. In this case I mix a little ice cream through it just before serving.

  3. Jan, never thought about ice cream. Sounds good.

    Laurie, the cran raisins have a little bit of a sour tastes versus the sweeter taste of the raisins.

Leave a Reply

