Marathon man, er, woman

I started a diet and exercise program this week, so right now it hurts even to type. 🙂  It’s a local program at a gym and one of the things I like about it is the accountability portion.  For some reason, I keep starting exercise and/or food modification programs, then falling off the wagon, if you’ll forgive the cliché.  This program requires me to show up at the gym 5 days a week for exercise and to go over my meal plans with them (both what I’m going to eat and what I’ve eaten).

 I’ve signed up for 8 weeks of this.  (Do you think I can get out of that contract by being certified as nuts? 🙂 ).  My hope is that, by the end, I’ll have broken some bad habits and replaced them with newer, healthier ones.

Having never gone to a gym and exercised, I was intimidated when I showed up.  But something pretty special happened that first day in my group.  I was, as I expected, the last one in from the timed lunge/squat/1mile run portion of the program.  But everyone in my class, who could have gone home once they were done, stayed and clapped me in.

I have to tell you, having them root me in made it feel like I’d just finished the NY City Marathon.  Okay, so yes, I also felt like that physically, but the emotional rush had me in tears. 

It felt great.  And that euphoria, hopefully, will carry me through until my muscles adjust to the program and stop complaining.

So…anybody got any tips for soothing sore muscles?

8 responses to “Marathon man, er, woman

  1. Lots of stretching Laurie!! I find that a good time to stretch during my “non-exercise” time of the day is during commercials while I am watching my favorite tv shows. I still get some down time to watch tv but I take advantage of those little breaks to get on the floor and loosen up. Helps keep me limber and ready to work out the next day!

  2. Oooh, good idea Michal. Commercials is a good reminder to stretch. Thanks! I have to be inventive with the quad stretch as I can’t yet grab my foot behind me. But one of these days… 🙂

  3. A nice warm bath with some relaxing essential oils could help. Or Epsom Salts – do you have them in the US? Friend of mine swears by them after a half marathon 🙂

    Have Fun!

  4. Oooh, rather you than me, Laurie.

    As Tricia said some soothing bath salts in a nice warm bath….maybe a few candles burning essential oils.

    One thing, Laurie, what happens if you don’t turn up to the gym? Do you have do some kind of forfeit, or pay a fee?

  5. Epsom salts in bath water. Great idea. I hadn’t thought of that. We do have a hot tub, so I’ve been in it daily this week, usually just before bed to help me sleep.
    If I miss a day, I don’t pay a fee, but I paid one price for the eight week course, so it’s motivating me to make sure I get my money’s worth. 🙂

  6. ouch ouch ouch. I like the stretching during commercial breaks. It would work to keep me out of the fridge or candy drawer or . . .

    Hang in there.

  7. I am trying, but it’s been a long, tough week. 🙂 Thanks, Lavada.

  8. Addendum: Today I had to do the following:
    Run 1 mile
    100 pull ups
    200 push ups
    300 squats
    Run another mile.
    Yikes! And I signed up for this voluntarily? Sheesh! 🙂

Leave a Reply

