October’s Food Fun Monday # 3

After the decadent cake recipe I posted last time, this one is healthy and yummy. I don’t have a name for it because we had it at a restaurant and I’m not even sure I used the same recipe but it tastes as good and was fun to recreate. I’m calling it Green and Fruit Salad.

GREEN AND FRUIT SALAD

A head of lettuce or half head or whatever works for the amount you’re feeding – regular ice burg
1 apple – I use Fuji or granny smith apples but any firm apple will do
2 cans of mandarin oranges – again 1 or 2 cans. We like them so I use 2 cans.

Mix salad and top with either chicken or pecans. I use Sahale snacks which is a nut blend of pecans, and sweet cranberries. Any nut or nut mix using pecans or walnuts will work.

You can use any salad dressing and mix it into the salad or put it on individually. I like Sesame dressing as its a little sweet and one they use for chicken salad.

Another consideration for dressing is the new Wish Bone Salad Spritzers. At one calorie per spritz it makes me feel even better. They have it in 3 Vinaigrettes, Italian, and Ranch.

Enjoy – this salad always satisfies me. And surprisingly it stores well with the apples staying white.

3 responses to “October’s Food Fun Monday # 3

  1. Sounds good I’ll try this for dinner tonight and I might even make the cake.
    Does that sound like diet???

  2. Nancy, I had to laugh. Reminds me of how I order a big whopping burger with fries and . . .a diet pepsi.

  3. Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

