Retirement and the Golden Years.

Another day and another blog. Today I’m going to reflect on the big “R”. How many times have you heard,
#1 “I don’t know how I ever had time to work.” or
#2 “The golden years aren’t so golden.”?

For the sake of not boring you I’m only going to cover #1 for now. “I don’t know how I ever had time to work.” I’ve heard people say that so many times both before I retired and after. And now that I’m here I can agree and relate. I haven’t quite figured out if I’m slowing down (probably), or I have more to do, or if the days are getting shorter. But I never seem to run out of things to do before I run out of time to do them. For one thing I’m not a morning person, so I usually start for bed somewhere between midnight and 1:00. And, get up around 8:30. Some (morning people) might say that half the day is gone before I get started.

When I first retired, and I know some of you are going to shake your heads at this one, I would set the alarm for 6:30 and then turn it off. I got an enormous kick out of thumbing my nose at the alarm and going back to sleep. It didn’t take me too long to move beyond that and just sleep in.

I know when I retired people would ask me what my plans were and I’d say nothing. I’m going to take six months and do absolutely the minimum. No deep cleaning like closets, no yard work, no projects…. you get the idea. No nothing! Hah, almost immediately I found myself working on a political campaign. From there I ran for a national director of a large organization and got the position and . . . again you get the picture.

I’m not dumb, I know better, so from time to time over the years I will finish commitments and down size. And swear, never again, but for some reason after short breaks I find myself back with to much to do and too little time to do it. One good thing is I simply don’t have time to get sick. And, I have to be honest, a big part of what we do is play. A lot.

So life is good. Still a challenge, still exciting and each new day is in itself a journey. How about you, have more retirement stories?

Hugs
Lavada

7 responses to “Retirement and the Golden Years.

  1. Good morning my friend. AHHH retirement, I think the work is “tired”. No way can I sleep in and after being retired for quite a while you’d think I could but I’m up early and busy all day. Sometimes it’s nice to sit down with a good book (that’s the fun part of retirement), the work is always there and you don’t have to feel quilty if you take a few hours off to read. Have a great day.

  2. I have a friend who’s told me that when she retires she not going to take lessons from me. BUT, Nancy you make me look like I have it all down pat. I’ve never seen a more un-retired, retired person.

    Thanks bunches for stopping in and commenting.

  3. Yes, I’ve taken on more than I probably should have since I retired. This is a very timely blog for me as I’m trying to figure out how my life got so busy. 🙂 Someone once asked me how I manage my days. My answer sounds similar to yours. I take on and take on and take on until I’m about ready to burst, then I start saying “no”. But not for long. Eventually, the “yes” word starts pounding inside me to get out and I start filling the calendar again.

    Great post, Lavada. You’re making me think.

  4. Laurie, I know we’re in the same boat with to much life to live. The trouble for me is it isn’t all work. It’s a lot of fun stuff too and I don’t want to miss it. I’ve never understood people who say they are bored.

  5. Retirement…hmmm I have discovered it is just a word… A long time ago (1982) I was first introduced to the word. I worked in Camas, WA for Crown Zellerbach Research Division – a corporate raider came through and bought CZ and pieced it out. We were all given options and among them were to “move on” and receive a small “retirement” upon reaching age 55. So, that sounded good to me – something to look forward to? I moved on to Frito-Lay and “retired” from there because I thought it would be “fun” to open a private investigation firm and be my own boss. So, here I was – working for myself (slave-driver of a boss) and enjoying that tiny retirement from CZ and working around the clock. Just in case you haven’t thought of it, people came into the one-woman office during daylight hours to hire you but liked to commit acts of discretion during the midnight hours. Makes for very long days/nights for someone who is “retired”. My body had no clue it didn’t have time to be ill, but ended up with breast cancer anyway – soooo, I thought… shall I REALLY retire now? I closed my office and enjoyed some quieter times for almost a year! Then, I decided our income could sure use a boost and I was getting a bit bored – maybe I could just work part time…

    (By the way, I am just great on the health scene now – mastectomy, but good health! Can’t suggest often enough for all of you to get your mammograms!)

    I went from being a bill collector (a bit depressing for being “retired”) to working for a non-profit organization and promoting youth employment… that began as a request from the Director as just ‘temporary’ assignment. Then came another dislocated worker program, then energy stimulous program. I’m still with them on ‘temporary’ assignment but I get to work from home and get any day off I want. I don’t work full time so I’m my own woman, right? When asked where I work, I always say I’m retired. or is that tired? I am a fine artist and jewelry designer in my spare time! I am 68 years old and I am retired! Leave me alone!

  6. Ah Barb, I love your comments. You played down your achievements as an artist and jewelry designer. We’d love to do a blog with you and showcase your work.

    As far as ‘retired’ — maybe we should both redefine it to mean do everything but on your own time. At least we don’t have 8:00 to 5:00 jobs. By the way writing this made me thin. What kind of a job is 9 to 5?

  7. Pingback: Personal account of retirement « Golden Wave Movement

Leave a Reply

