Pampas Grass

Jillian’s recent blog (here) about trees got me thinking about a lesson I recently learned.

Earlier this year, our next door neighbor took down a venerable old cedar tree. I hated to see it go. I hate to see any tree cut down, but sometimes it’s necessary. This one had two tops and lost one during a windstorm a couple years ago. The remaining top groaned and cracked every time the wind came up, so none of us felt completely safe around it.

Now that fall is here, we’ve found a nice benefit to having that tree gone. Do you see the little clump of white near the base of that tree? That’s Pampas Grass we planted a bunch of years ago and it’s never done really well. After the cedar came down, my husband combed out all the old grass in the plant and it’s gone crazy.

It’s grown, and looks healthier than it ever did. It also has around 14 plumes on it. We’ve only gotten 3 or 4 in past years. I’m amazed at the transformation.

Amazed and thankful. I have a soft spot in my heart for Pampas grass. My sister was married on the beach near a huge Pampas grass plant back in 1975. This picture is old and grainy, but shows how beautiful the scene was. I thought their wedding was the coolest thing ever. (I was 20 at the time—that’s me shadowed at the far left of the wedding group.) Every time I look at our little crop of grass, I smile and think of that day and remember good times.

So I guess, sometimes, taking down a tree isn’t a bad thing.

19 responses to “Pampas Grass

  1. I love Pampas grass, have always wanted some in my yard, but never have had any. I think it’s so pretty. The cedar tree in front of my house is like the one your neighbor cut down~tall, two tops and scary when the wind blows. If it has to ever come down, I will miss the afternoon shade it provides in the summer.

  2. I agree and can’t imagine why we’ve never planted Pampas grass. But with all the restrictions at Jubilee I’m afraid it might grow to tall and they’ll make me take it out. Hard to believe but I’m finding there are some really over the wall restrictions on owning a home in a community. So guess I’ll just drive up and admire yours.

  3. Your Pampas grass looks very nice. I think with all the nice weather we have had the Pampas grass has done very well this year. Ours is very pretty and we even have some down where our old house used to be. The cows eat on it but it just keeps coming back.

    • I hear Pampas grass is pretty hardy, although it appears we should have originally planted it in a sunnier place, eh? I can’t believe the cows like to eat it. Those leaves are sharp!

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I really like pampas grass, too (maybe we should all form a Pampas Grass Club). I recently made my mom a silk arrangement for her dining table and used Pampas in it. Lovely!

    We have an ancient Blue Spruce tree that reaches far into the clouds and we worry every time a storm brews, but it sways at will and remains firmly standing. :P

    • I like that idea. We’ll be the grass girls. Hmmm, on second thought… :)
      You’re blue spruce sounds amazing. You’ll have to try to put a pic up on the blog one of these days. We planted a blue spruce out front that my daughter brought home in grade school and now it’s taller than any of us. :)

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I think I have a picture of it in wintertime. I’ll look and see, and then post it one day soon. :P

  5. Hey, Valerie. I keep meaning to ask you where you got the pic you use for an avatar. I’ve been meaning to find something like that to use, but I’m not sure where to start looking.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you for noticing, Laurie! She’s my own creation. She’s a Dollz created somewhat in my likeness. She’s also sipping one of those frozen fruity drinks. :P I’ve created a different one for each site that allows an Avatar. If you google “Dollz” you’ll find several sites that allow you to create them and save them. I created her in 2009, so I’m not sure what site I created her at. But here are the links for a couple sites I’ve used in the past:

      http://www.dollzmania.com/Dollz.html

      http://www.styledollz.info/

      You get to choose everything: face shape, hair color and texture, body frame, eye shape and color, clothes, shoes, accessories, etc. It’s kind of neat and a lot of fun. Remember paper dolls when you were a kid? Or Colorforms? Dollz are sort of an update on those. :P :P

  6. Ooo. I love pampas grass too, there’s something regal and exotic about it. We had conifers overhanging our garden for years until the neighbours cut them down. The difference in my garden know is unbelievable. Hate seeing good trees come down but sometimes they must and something always good comes out of it.

  7. Amazing how something beautiful often fills a void, Laurie. The pampas grass looks beautiful. I love to see the plumes of a pampas blowing in the breeze.

Leave a Reply

