Book Review – Feyland: The Bright Court (Anthea Sharp)

It’s Book Review Monday again and I just finished a book I’d love to talk about. The cover alone would have made me want to read it, but I was already aware of the series.

Having read Feyland: The Dark Realm, I was pulled right back into the story with this sequel, although I believe it would make sense to anyone who hadn’t read the first book in this series first. This young adult book really speaks to all ages, from pre-teen on up.

Jennet and Tam Linn are the only ones who can keep an immersive video game from opening the crack between their world and the Realm of Faerie. Their world feels slightly futuristic and has a realistic approach to the peer issues teens face, all while entertaining the reader with a story that includes video-gaming, sword fights, and fairy kings. As well, the relationship between Jennet and Tam Linn is very appropriate and perfectly timed with the story.

Honestly, I buy the whole premise of Feyland. It’s an imaginative and engrossing story that I highly recommend. I understand there will be one more installment to this story and I will be purchasing it as soon as it becomes available.

You can find more information about this book on the author’s website:  http://anthealawson.com/

posted by Laurie Ryan

8 responses to “Book Review – Feyland: The Bright Court (Anthea Sharp)

  1. I haven’t read any of the YA’s from this author but have read all of her Regency’s and she is a gifted story teller.

    • She’s written some great Regency’s too. I agree with you. Still, being a bit of a closet gamer myself (and currently addicted to Words With Friends), I really enjoyed this story.

  2. I agree, that’s a very intriguing cover and I love the premise. Haven’t read any YA, but will check this one out.

  3. Love the cover! The only YA I’ve read is one I edited earlier this year, that was about Faerie too. Thoroughly enjoyable so think I shall be reading a lot more of them.

  4. Lovely cover. Very nice. I am liking a lot of the YA stuff out there. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

