First Run Fever – Television Finales

Well, have we all gotten through the finales of our favorite television shows? How did it go? Did you like how they turned out? Or worry about where the cliffhangers left things?

I’ll talk about a couple of mine. First, Survivor: One World. For me, this 24th season was the best one yet. I didn’t start off feeling that way. I was embarrassed to be a woman the way the women were falling apart. But I have to give them credit. They re-grouped, strengthened their resolve, and maintained that strength while the men de-constructed—BIG time. The guys even gave up tribal immunity to the women. They went to tribal and voted one of their own out when it should have been the women sitting there. Crazy!

At any rate, the finale ended up with 3 strong female competitors and I’d have been happy with any of them winning. However, since this was the first time the person I picked on day one WON, I’m ecstatic for Kim Spradlin. And maybe, just maybe, I’m getting better at picking winners? Now if that Lottery ticket would just pay off, eh?

Another series I watch are the naval crime shows NCIS and NCIS:LA. Both left off with very intriguing storylines and I’ll be tuning in come Autumn to see how they resolve this.  SPOILER ALERT: If you watch these shows and were aghast at Ducky’s collapse at the end, I’m happy to report that on April 30, 2012, TV Guide reported David McCallum signed another 2 year contract for NCIS. It just wouldn’t be the same without Illya Kuryakin/Ducky there.

Hubby and I picked up a new show this year. Person of Interest. I would have watched this show simply because local actor Jim Caviezel stars in it. But the plot is also unusual and the stories have been different enough that each week is fresh and exciting. The basic premise is that a man built a computer that spits out the names of people who are in trouble. What you don’t know is if they are the good guy or the bad guy. They’ve surprised me a couple times so far with that one. And they left it with a huge hook that pulled me in even further. I’ll be a couch potato, come Fall, if this keeps up.

For now, though, it’s re-runs and time to catch up on my project lists and the movies we want to watch. How about you? Are you shows over for the season (if you watch TV)? How did they turn out? And what will you be doing with your time over the summer?

22 responses to “First Run Fever – Television Finales

  1. We watch many of the same shows you do. The one I miss because Biggest Loser comes on at the same time is NCIS so we will enjoy reruns of it this summer. And, like you now it will be catching up with movies via Netflix and maybe some movie time.

    By the way has anyone noticed that for awhile the “Notify” check box below the comment box was automatically checked? I loved it and now it’s back to being I have to remember to check it. Does anyone know how to get wordpress to do it auto?

    • I liked having the notify box auto checked. It would be nice if they’d give us the option for each blog we follow, wouldn’t it? So, how did Biggest Loser finish out? Were you happy with it?

      • Laurie Ryan

        Hey, Lavada? You CAN check to have emails for each comment sent to you automatically. I just went to the list of blogs I follow and there’s an option you can check for each blog asking if you want comments via email.

      • I think I might be getting a little jaded with the reality shows because I don’t get as into who wins as I used to. I wanted Kim to win as the guy who won was part of a brother, sister team and they both made it to the finals so it was Kim against the two.

        I’ll look into the auto check on the notify. Thanks.

  2. I knew Ducky wasn’t dead. I love, love, David McCallum. He’s like 76 and who could blame him if he wanted to take a break from working but I’m glad he’s coming back. I was calming down some of my buds that night as they wigged out about it. LOL!

    James Caviezel is local to you? WOW- I’d be totally stalking him. Adore him. And you’re right, that show is good. Quite good. I like it a lot.

    I’m spending my summer hopefully watching THE GLADES if I can remember when it comes on. It’s a good show. A bit unbelieveable since the FDLE is more of a crime lab than a set of detectives investigating murders, but hey, it’s fiction, right?

  3. Lavada: Two against one on Biggest Loser? That doesn’t sound fair. Every season, I’ve been frustrated with Survivor because it seems like good people don’t make it to the end. So I was very happy with the outcome this season. Next season, if Colton comes back, I’m not sure I’ll watch it. I said that, knowing I will probably tune into the first night and get hooked. lol

    • I had the same thoughts when it looked like Colton might come back. I can understand the semantics of the game in playing the other players with lies but being unkind and getting personal like he did is something I don’t like to watch. However with his mother speaking up like she did it looked like Colton was ashamed, as he should be, for what he said on the show.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nice blog topic, Laurie! I don’t watch reality TV. Ever. I do watch NCIS and Person of Interest. Both shows ended with fantastic story lines. I also watch Unforgettable and Revenge. I have to admit, I wasn’t certain I would like Revenge because, well, it’s about seeking revenge and I don’t believe a person should do that. However–all that being said–I am in deep with this show. I have to DVR it so I don’t miss it! And finally, Rizzoli and Isles is a fantastic female cop show that never disappoints. :P

    PS. For those of you who–like me–preferred Parker Stevenson to Shaun Cassidy, I swear I saw a man at Best Buy last night who could have passed as his son … 80s hair style and all! I couldn’t help it, I stared. A lot! :P

    • Good for you, Valerie, not getting sucked into the reality tv stuff. You’re stronger than I am. :) I haven’t watched Unforgettable, but my husband got hooked on Revenge. Ahhh, I keep forgetting about Rizzoli and Isles. I hear that’s a great show.
      Being more of a Sean Cassidy kind of gal, I’m still jealous you saw Parker or his doppleganger!

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I’m telling you, Laurie, I couldn’t take my eyes off him! LOL. I just kept thinking, “Man, he looks just like Parker Stevenson!” Of course, had I gone over and said the same, he probably would have replied, “Parker who??” :P

  5. Here in the UK, we have I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here, affectionately known as “The Jungle” – it’s the only reality-type show I’m hooked on. A group of celebrities (some very obscure!) live together in the Australian Bush for a few weeks and have to survive all manner of awfulness :) It’s on in Nov/Dec. Also love Britain’s Got Talent, which has just finished. Most years the act I love most gets chosen as the winner, so I don’t have to yell at the screen. This year it was Ashley and Pudsey, a young girl with a gorgeous, talented dog who could dance. Adorable.
    The show I miss most right now is Hawaii 5-O. Love it. The last few episodes were missing Steve McGarrett so I’m hoping he’s back when the show returns to our screens.

    • Oooh, how could I have forgotten Hawaii 5-0? And Castle, which runs the same night, same time. Both worthy of mention. the Jungle used to play over here but I haven’t seen it in a couple seasons. And America’s Got Talent just started this week over here. I’ve been an avid viewer of that show, but this year Piers is gone and I don’t care for the judge who replaced him (Howard Stern) so haven’t tuned in.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Oh, yes, Castle is very good! I also like Psych on USA. Have not seen Hawaii 5-0 … and who’s brain child came up with the idea that Howard Stern would make a good replacement for Piers Morgan?? :P

    • We used to have the Celebrity “Get Me Out Of Here” show here. It was short-lived, but funny as heck.

  6. Valerie, I ran into a stage star in southern California one time (Rex Smith, I’m not sure anyone remembers him but me). In a GROCERY store. I stood and stared, but didn’t have the guts to go up and say hello. I’m such a putz! So, I’ll make a pact with you. Next time we see someone like that, we’re going to go up and ask, k? :)

  7. Cannot stand the reality type shows such as Tricia mentioned or Big Brother or Britain’s Got Talent etc. But I do love CSI and NCSI and all the cop TV series – when I get to see them, that is. I’m more of a quiz show fanatic like University Challenge. I know, I’m an old bore!

    • Do you still watch CSI, Kit? They kind lost me with all the staffing changes, but I started watching it again when Ted Danson came on board. I like him.

Leave a Reply

