Spring Cleaning – Out with The Old?

posted by Laurie Ryan

Achhh! I got so busy with life I completely forgot to load my post today.

Spring cleaning has begun in our house,  much to my husband’s chagrin. This is the time of year I start going through closets and asking “Do we really need to keep this?” At the beginning of this “season” he really does think about each item I show him. By the end, however, his eyes glaze over whenever I come near with something in my hand to show him.

As part of this annual ritual, I was going through kitchen drawers. I haven’t tackled the “junk” drawer yet. That’s usually last on my list. But I got to my pile of potholders and I have a quandary.  See these pictures?

On the left is one of the lovely new potholders I bought…about 5 years ago…and have never used. Below? Good old tried and true. I’ve probably had this potholder for 20 years. Doesn’t the faded blue and rose heart date it? It’s my favorite and the first one I reach for.  Food spills? No problem. Just toss it in the washer.

I’ve never used my shiny new ones and I wondering if it’s time. After all, it has been several years since I bought them.  Is it time to retire old faithful?

Hmmmm. I guess I’ll have to think about it. In the meantime, the junk drawer is calling my name.

Happy Spring…Cleaning, everyone!

8 responses to “Spring Cleaning – Out with The Old?

  1. Love your closing sentence. Happy Spring Cleaning? Well I guess the results of it is Happy. I always feel good when the house smells like it’s been cleaned.

    I make lists – bet you’re not surprised- and I’ve found I need weather that I can throw open the doors and windows. This year that means a late start because the grrrrr weather isn’t cooperating. The rain is bad enough but its the cold that has me still hibernation mode.

    All you non-commenters. Join in here. We need to start getting some conservations going. I can tell by the stats you dropping by so chime in. It will keep Laurie and I from talking to ourselves. :)

    • Being able to open the windows and doors really kicks off my cleaning frenzy. For now, I’m concentrating on closets and drawers and clutter.

  2. Hmm, spring cleaning. Love it. It seems to clear the mind as well as the physical space. I’d tend to keep old faithful, Laurie. It’s still very pretty, although faded and you still love it.

    I wonder if folks are finding it difficult to get their comment to show, Lavada. I know I’ve had a few problems with WordPress of late.

    • I really, really DO want to keep my old faithful potholder. lol

      I’ve had a couple people mention to me they’ve been having some WordPress issues. So far, I’ve been fine commenting, but loading my blogs has been a little more difficult.

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    Have not yet begun spring cleaning here as the weather has been so wonderful that I want to be out in it as much as possible. They hubby gets home before I do from work, so when I get home, I call him and tell him to meet me in the driveway and then we put the top down and go for a ride, or get ice cream cones and go for a ride. While I am not a fan of summer (too humid here) I love winter, and absolutely adore spring and fall. I might get to spring cleaning this spring, but likely not until the humidity makes it too sticky to want to be outside.

    Keep the pot holder! :P

    • Wonderful weather? We are back to being mired in gray rain. This spring is turning out to be like last year–soggier than normal. So I guess it’s good that I’m in indoor cleaning mode, eh?
      However, I will take our rain over your humidity. I know that, once summer arrives, I can go outside and not worry about it being humid. I don’t envy you that, Valerie.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        You’re lucky your summer days are humidity-free! We rarely head south for vacation because the humidity is even worse. We went to Nova Scotia one year in early August and it was snowing the last day we were there. Burnt off by noon and was lovely the rest of the day. My kind of weather! :P

  4. I’d keep the old as it is lovely, but I’d get to work on “weathering” the new ones, too. They need to be loved! LOL!

    I need so badly to clean some stuff out but I’m very daunted by the amount that needs to be done. Each time I open the closet, I shut it in horror!

Leave a Reply

